The Fountain Pen, Guelph's On-Line News
ADV: Chris Bradley Landscape

Liz Sandals is Appointed Minister of Education

Web posted on February 11, 2013

As Kathleen Wynne is sworn in as the new Premier of Ontario there have been several new changes in the cabinet. In total there are 27 members of Wynne's cabinet; 10 of these posting will be to new members. John Milloy remains in Cabinet as Government House Leader.

One of the new appointments will go to first-time cabinet minister Guelph's Liz Sandals as Minister of Education; while current Education Minister Laurel Broten will become the Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs.

Sandals has a long history in working with school boards since 1988 when she was elected four times to the local public school board. Additionally elected as president of the Ontario Public School Boards' Association (OPSBA) from 1998 to 2002. She also sat on the board of directors of the Canadian School Boards Association prior to being elected a MPP in 2003.

The governing Liberals have hit a rough patch in their relationship with the province's public teachers after using controversial legislation to impose contracts upon them. "Her (Liz Sandals) first priority is to restore the relationship with teachers, working with all partners to help bring back extracurricular activities to schools across the province." - Wynne Press Release

The list of Wynne's new and returning cabinet members are:

Wynne herself will be both premier and minister of agriculture.

Deb Matthews remains health minister, but also becomes deputy premier.

Jim Bradley will continue in his role as minister of the environment.

John Gerretsen will continue in his role as attorney general.

Michael Gravelle becomes minister of northern development and mines.

Ted McMeekin is the new minster of community and social services.

Laurel Broten is the new minister of intergovernmental affairs and is also the minister responsible for women's issues.

Brad Duguid is the new minister of training, colleges and universities.

Linda Jeffrey is the new minister of municipal affairs and housing and is also the chair of the Liberal cabinet.

Jeff Leal becomes minister of rural affairs.

Madeleine Meilleur stays in her role as the minister of community safety and correctional services, as well as the minister responsible for Francophone affairs.

David Orazietti becomes minister of natural resources.

Liz Sandals, as reported previously, will be the new education minister.

Harinder Takhar will be minister of government services and serve as the chair of the management board of cabinet.

David Zimmer will be minister of aboriginal affairs.

Michael Chan remains as minister of tourism, culture and sport and as minister responsible for the 2015 Pan/Parapan American Games.

Reza Moridi becomes minister of research and innovation.

Yasir Naqvi will become labour minister.

Charles Sousa, as reported previously, is going to be the new minister of finance.

Eric Hoskins will serve as the minister of economic development, trade and employment.

Glen Murray will be the minister of infrastructure and the minister of transportation.

Bob Chiarelli, as reported previously, will be minister of energy.

Michael Coteau will be the new minister of citizenship and immigration.

Tracy MacCharles will be the new minister of consumer services.

Teresa Piruzza becomes the new minister of children and youth services.

Mario Sergio becomes minister responsible for seniors.

John Milloy will continue to serve in his role as government house leader.

"Jobs, the economy and a fair society are the priorities for this new government, and we intend to work with the opposition parties to make progress on these important priorities for the people of this province. There is much that can be done if we set the interests of Ontario at the heart of our work. That is why I am opening a new session of the legislature next week." Says Kathleen Wynne, Premier of Ontario