The Fountain Pen, Guelph's On-Line News
+Your Ad Here

This Year's Recipients of the Lincoln M. Alexander Awards

Web posted on January 21, 2014

On the first official Lincoln Alexander Day in Ontario, the province is honouring three young female leaders with a Lincoln M. Alexander Award. Bill 125 received Royal Assent on Dec. 12, 2013, making Jan. 21 of each year Lincoln Alexander Day in Ontario.

"I'm honoured to recognize the outstanding contributions that these three young leaders have made in eliminating racial discrimination. By creating conversations and using innovative ways to shine a light on the prejudices that hold us back as a society, they are keeping alive Mr. Alexander's legacy of helping young people overcome social barriers." The Honourable David C. Onley, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario.

Each year, the Lincoln M. Alexander Awards are presented to three young people between the ages of 16 and 25, who have demonstrated exemplary leadership in promoting positive social change. The awards were created in 1993 to celebrate the late Lincoln Alexander, the province's first black Lieutenant Governor. Lincoln Alexander was born in Toronto, and was Ontario's first black Member of Parliament. He served as the province's Lieutenant Governor from 1985 to 1991. He passed away on Oct.19, 2012

This year's recipients are:

- Saba Oji of Waterloo, for promoting the inclusion of English as a Second Language (ESL) students into school activities;

- Talisha Ramsaroop of Toronto, for her work as a mentor for students battling racial stereotypes in Toronto's urban core;

- Nathalie Restoule of the Dokis First Nation, for her activism in addressing issues of racism among First Nations youth.

Empowering the province's youth to take on leadership roles to help eliminate racial discrimination supports the government's efforts to work together as One Ontario to build a successful, vital province where everyone has the opportunity to connect, contribute and achieve their goals.

"Congratulations to the 2013 recipients of the Lincoln M. Alexander Award. These three young women embody what it means to be an active citizen here in Ontario. They show leadership by helping to build a fair and just society for all Ontarians." Michael Coteau, Minister of Citizenship and Immigration.